Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



UNI-PRESIDENT CHINA HOLDINGS LTD.

统一企業中國控股有限公司*

(a company incorporated in the Cayman Islands with limited liability) (Stock code: 220)

ANNOUNCEMENT

Reference is made to the announcement of Uni-President China Holdings Ltd. (the "**Company**") dated 2 December 2008.

On 19 January 2009, the Company obtained two arbitration awards (the "Arbitration Awards") issued by the China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission, Shanghai Commission (the "Commission"). Pursuant to the Arbitration Awards, the Commission ordered Guangdong Zhong Gu Tang Ye Group Company Limited (the "Counterparty") to pay to the Company, in aggregate, RMB110,220,325 (the "Compensation") as, inter alia, damages of the Company under the two sugar supply contracts entered into between the Company and the Counterparty. The Arbitration Awards took effect on 19 January 2009 and the Counterparty is required to pay the Compensation to the Company within 15 days from the effective date of the Arbitration Awards.

Notwithstanding the Arbitration Awards, the Company at this stage has not received the payment of the Compensation from the Counterparty and it is not able to determine the amount of the Compensation, if any, which it can recover from the Counterparty. The Company will issue a further announcement to update shareholders and potential investors of the Company if there are any further material developments on this matter.

Shareholders and potential investors of the Company are cautioned to exercise care in dealing in the shares of the Company.

By order of the board of directors Uni-President China Holdings Ltd. Lo Chih-Hsien Chairman

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors are Mr. Lo Chih-Hsien and Mr. Lin Wu-Chung; the non-executive directors are Mr. Kao Chin-Yen, Mr. Lin Chang-Sheng, Mr. Lin Lung-Yi and Mr. Su Tsung-Ming; and the independent non-executive directors are Mr. Chen Sun-Te, Mr. Fan Ren-Da, Anthony, Mr. Hwang Jenn-Tai, Mr. Yang Ing-Wuu and Mr. Lo Peter.

Hong Kong, 23 January 2009

* For identification purpose only